Boys' U19 World Championship draw held in Tunis


Iran defeated Russia to claim the title in 2017

Tunis, Tunisia, June 27, 2019 - The twenty teams set to participate in the 2019 edition of the FIVB Volleyball Boys' U19 World Championship were split across four pools at a drawing of lots ceremony held on Wednesday.  Hosts Tunisia will play Brazil, Cuba, Chinese Taipei and Belarus in Pool A when the tournament takes place in Tunis from August 21 to 30.

2019 FIVB Volleyball Boys' U19 World Championship - Pools

Pool A: Tunisia, Brazil, Cuba, Chinese Taipei, Belarus
Pool B: Iran, Czech Republic, Italy, Colombia, Bulgaria
Pool C: Japan, Egypt, Argentina, Germany, Mexico
Pool D: Russia, South Korea, United States, Nigeria, Dominican Republic

Four Age-Category World Championships will be played in 2019 including the Women's U20s in Leon and Aguascalientes in Mexico from July 12 to 21, the Men's U21s in Manama, Bahrain from July 18 to 27, the Boys' U19s and the Girls' U18s in Cairo, Egypt from September 5 to 14.

The Boys' U19 World Championships were expanded to feature 20 teams in 2013 instead of 16. The tournament is played over nine days beginning with four pools of five teams each playing in a round robin format, before the second round matches serve to rank the teams in the competition.

Twenty teams will compete for the medals on offer in Tunis

Brazil are the most successful nation at the Boys' U19 World Championships with a total of six golds. Russia have three titles, Serbia and Iran two, including the most recent edition for the Asian team. Other winners of the biennial tournament include Poland in 2015 and Italy in 1997.


All the News